Candidates confirmed for Conservative Party Leadership Race

Five candidates have put their names forward to be the next leader of the Conservative Party and Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. 

The are:

  • Stephen Crabb MP
  • Liam Fox MP
  • Michael Gove MP
  • Andrea Leadsom MP
  • Theresa May MP

Conservative Members of Parliament will vote for their preferred candidate in a succession of ballots until there are two candidates remaining. The winner will then be chosen by a postal ballot of qualifying Conservative Party members and is expected to be announced on 9th September 2016.

For more information about the process and each of the candidates standing, as well as the latest updates regarding the election, please visit: